alt="August Udoh"

AUGUST UDOH …communicating with photography

Nigerian still photographer August Udoh

Still photography gives the world something to look at, something to think about, something to ponder about and something to concentrate on…..as a photographer the moment you click that shutter you have captured a moment that will never be recovered…

– August Udoh describing his kind of photography in an interview on Jaguda.com.

 

Although Udoh has gained popularity for snapping photos of popular Nigerian celebrities such as 9ice, M.I, eLDee, Eva Alordiah, Burna Boy, Olamide, Sound Sultan and Iceprince, Chidinma, Femi Kuti, vector, Goldie, Kcee, Asa to mention a few but surprisingly I never knew him as the average Nigerian citizen doesn’t care about who took the shot but who appears in it and how good and creative the shot looks.

August udoh photograph of nigerian celebrities
August udoh photograph of nigerian celebrities

The 24 years old photographer who prefer to be called an “amateur photographer” works caught my attention creating an obsession for his photograph as this picture below narrating the sober reflection of a Nigerian father whose pain can be clearly seen from the aftermath of the Kogi Flood which also shows the wide gap between the rich and poor of Nigerian concluding from the background environment.

a Nigerian father whose pain can be clearly seen from the aftermath of the Kogi Flood

I praise his creative usage of black and white style which I later discovered to be his major strength from most of his shots. With this August Udoh has shown that photography is more than the visible image but the load of messages it carries along as most of his works express more than just the normal expected facial expression.

3e9c7c7c04643460e561e792a6e3e790 tumblr_mwg504ZknG1qb6jujo6_500

While many will recognize him as “Nigerian Celebrities Photographer” he has explore into the Nigerian environment to capture moment, scenes and natural disaster to voice-out a story for the unvoiced. Some of these great and outstanding works are visible in his documentaries “Things we lost in the flood”; Kogi State and the “Dambe Traditional boxers” in Lagos State.

Even though he’s sound and recognized in the world of photography he still never forget the root; the upcoming one’s as he has been an inspiration to several other photographers who take it as either profession or just as hubby, an example is D’Mayo who won the 1st Prize winning photograph for the first draw of The Amateur Photographer Competition titled “Lekki Sea View” 2011 and 4th Prize winning photograph for the second draw of The Amateur Photographer Competition titled “Even the Toddlers Clean the Environment” 2012 which was a nationwide competition mentioned August’s name as one who inspires him in an interview.

D’Mayo Shot of August udoh

August Udoh run a yearly photograph workshop mostly focused on teaching beginners in the photography how to properly handle future jobs when if or when they decide to go pro or keep the photography skills set as a hobby.

IMG_91401 IMG_91451 orbitimagery_MG_0371 orbitimagery_MG_1332 orbitimagery_MG_2281 orbitimagery_MG_4708 orbitimagery4 tumblr_msjkudLk6S1rqkjy0o2_1280

see more of August Udoh’s Creative and outstanding works here

+INSPIRING LESSONS FROM THE “AMATEUR PHOTOGRAPHER”

–          There’s always an alternative in achieving that desire future passion:

“I never wanted to be a photographer; I’ve always wanted to make movies so I have tried a number of times to make my interest known to filmmakers via internet and other Medias to request working with them, after which I intend to travel abroad to further knowledge by studying filming.

I met Mr. Tunde Kelani one of my favorite film makers and he invited me to his home residence, we had a chat after which he told me he started as a photographer, also informed me that some of the best cinematographers today started off as a photographer which is what you will be taught in your first year of film school and he suggested I get a camera and start off taking photos, initially I thought he just didn’t want to help, he then said if I am good enough with my work and the camera that he will employ me. I was psyched, got all my funds together, got myself a camera. Back then it was a Nikon D40 that was a great camera for starters, I started by taking shots family members, friends and everything that was in front of me, worthy of the camera, I have since then photographed, fell in love with it but never went back to Mr.Tunde Kelani, I am very grateful for his advice because even though I might make movies in future photography will always be my medium of story telling…”

-August Udoh on his passion for telling stories and how he has now been achieving that through photography

 

–        If you are really good; you don’t need to hype your skills and work, YOUR WORK WILL DO THE TALKING!

“Though August Udoh is popular for snapping photos of Nigerian Celebrities such as 9ice, M.I, eLDee, Eva Alordiah, Burna Boy, Olamide to mention a few which shows he isn’t just a budding photographer but he still prefers to be called the “AMATEUR PHOTOGRAPHER””

 

–          Understand what you do! It’s NOT ABOUT JUST DOING IT

“I am just trying to convey a story with images without written words… as a photographer the moment you click that shutter you have captured a moment that will never be recovered”

 

Leave a Reply

